Friday, July 25, 2008

defining period

The Beatles
Past Masters, Vol. 2
(Capitol, 1988)
Styles: Pop/Rock, Experimental, Psychedelic, Traditional Rock
Themes: moving forward, studied, organic, cultured, mystical

What seperates this from the previous compilation is that the songs are closer to the originals (and are generally superior). The one exception is Across the Universe, which is known as the 'Wildlife' version and is still one of the most affecting songs with its charmingly youthful backing vocals. The indieish Paperback Writer with those soothing three-part harmonies, and the urgency of We Can Work It Out make up the best from 1965-66. The slowed-down Rain with Ringo's prominent drumming (he was considered one of the best drummers of his time) keeps the compilation from feeling like a complete exercise in commerce. Harrison's worldy, Indian-influenced The Inner Light is also present. And You Know My Name (Look Up the Number) is one of the more interesting oddballs that became a B-side. It's as if it were the soundtrack to Monty Python. (Stones' Brian Jones play sax on it.)

In the end I'm not really sure this is a necessary compilation. If you already have the singles -- than you don't. If you don't -- than maybe you do.

Album title re-working: Blue Album II

1. Day Tripper (Lennon, McCartney) 2:49
2. We Can Work It Out (Lennon, McCartney) 2:15
3. Paperback Writer (Lennon, McCartney) 2:18
4. Rain (Lennon, McCartney) 3:02
5. Lady Madonna (Lennon, McCartney) 2:17
6. The Inner Light (Harrison) 2:36
7. Hey Jude (Lennon, McCartney) 7:08
8. Revolution (Lennon, McCartney) 3:24
9. Get Back (Lennon, McCartney) 3:14
10. Don't Let Me Down (Lennon, McCartney) 3:34
11. The Ballad of John and Yoko (Lennon, McCartney) 3:00
12. Old Brown Shoe (Harrison) 3:18
13. Across the Universe [Wildlife version] (Lennon, McCartney) 3:49
14. Let It Be (Lennon, McCartney) 3:50
15. You Know My Name (Look Up the Number) (Lennon, McCartney) 4:19


Post a Comment

<< Home